We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Music From A Divided Germany

by various

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Download includes PDFs of the original cassette cover, the original artist contact address sheet, and the liner notes of the online issue.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $1 USD  or more




HalTapes presents an archival issue
of a 1989 Harsh Reality Music compilation
Music from a Divided Germany

1. Yref & Nickola: “Opiska” — Berlin, West Germany
2. Nostalgie Éternelle: “Loop-Hole” — Leer & Rhauderfehn, WG
3. Die Rache: “Mild U. Weich” — Nürnberg, WG
4. Siegmar Fricke: “Metal-Working-Grabs — Wilhelmshaven, WG
5. Solanaceae Tau: “Muzak Ritual” — Frankfurt, WG
6. Das Freie Orchester: “Untitled #3” — Berlin, East Germany
7. Berlin Diary: “Indigo Stages (Part One)” — Berlin, WG
8. Das Synthetische Mischgewebe: “If it is sure that man is able to do anything, is it also sure that he needs it?” — Berlin, WG
9. Tesendalo: “Der Strahlenschutzbeauftragte Empfielt” — Berlin, WG
10. Context: “Product 44” — Erlangen, WG

1. PCR: “Acteon.V” — Nürnberg, WG
2. Radiotron: “Baby Came Back” — Aachen, WG
3. Kopfschmerztablette: “Ruckkehr Unmoglich” — Nürnberg, WG
4. Doc Wör Mirran: “Fastly Skitso” — Nürnberg, WG
5. M. Finnkrieg: “Instant Replay (First Frame)” — Berlin, WG
6. Der Pilz: “3 Lpusen” — Oldenburg, WG
7. Jörg Thomasius: “Die Verfolgung” — Berlin, EG
8. Henry Hektik: “Kontemplation” — Berlin, WG
9. Unanitious Anonymous: “News from the Shopping Bags” — Lauf, WG
10. L’Edarps a Moth: “I Want Your Laughter” — Bocholt, WG

Copyright 1989 by Harsh Reality Music, Memphis, Tennessee, USA
compilation produced by Chris Phinney
cassette cover typesetting by Carl Howard

Music from a Divided Germany is presented here for historical, archival, educational, and non-commercial purposes. This archival issue was created by Hal McGee with the authorization of Harsh Reality label owner and compilation producer Chris Phinney.

The 94-minute compilation was transcribed to digital by Hal McGee on February 28, 2015, using Audacity, from an original cassette copy (on Maxell UR-90 Normal Bias Type I tape) given to McGee by Chris Phinney.
The two audio files are straight transcriptions of the entire sides of the 90-minute cassette. Silences at the beginnings and ends of the sides of tape are included.

Downloads are Name Your Price with a $0 minimum. This means that you can download the album for free, if you wish. If you choose to pay for the download your money will be considered a donation to enable further documentation of classic cassette art of the 1980s and 1990s.


released February 28, 2015




Cassette Art Classics Gainesville, Florida

Cassette Art Classics features classic DIY tapes of homemade music from the 1980s and 90s at affordable prices. All archival issues are authorized by the original label or the artist.

contact / help

Contact Cassette Art Classics

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Music From A Divided Germany, you may also like: